ReSharper: my favorite 5 shortcuts

I admit it, I love ReSharper

Honestly, I’m not affiliated with JetBrains in any way, but I think they’ve got a fantastic tool, which makes a developers life a whole lot easier. If you are a C# developer, you should check it out.

I’m still discovering new functionality, even after using it for a few years. In this post I wanted to share my favorite shortcuts. They’ve saved me countless hours, so hopefully you’ll find some new ones, and save yourself some time too!

A remarks before we begin: these are the default ReSharper mappings, but it’s possible that you’ve made some changes to these mappings. If they don’t work, head over to your Visual Studio settings and check your keyboard mappings

Here they are (in no particular order)

  • Alt-PageUp/Alt-PageDown and Alt-Enter – Next/Previous highlight and Quickfix
    It gives you a great feeling of power and control, just cruising over all the warnings in a file with Alt-PageUp/PageDown and fixing them with Alt-Enter. Clean code in no time.
  • Shift-Alt-L – Locate in Solution Explorer
    When you need to quickly locate the file you have open in the Solution Explorer, this handy shortcut does the trick. You’ll be amazed at how many times you can use this!
  • Ctrl-F12 – Go to Implementation
    Navigating around my code with F12 (Go to Definition) was common practice, but on  an interface most of the time I wanted to go to its implementation. You can imagine my joy when I discovered this shortcut 🙂
  • Ctrl-Shift-R – Refactor this
    The mother of all refactoring shortcuts. This gives you a context menu with the possible refactorings in the current context.
  • Alt-Ins – Generate Code
    Quickly add code like constructors, properties or equality members (super handy on structs).

If you need a quick overview of the keymappings, you can download a PDF for your version from the JetBrains website. Or you can try the keymaps for ReSharper Visual Studio plugin.

Have you got any other favorite shortcuts? A favorite feature in Reshaper? Just love the tool and want to spread the love? Leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

