Biztalk 2009 error: project creation failed in visual studio 2008

I’m had to do some biztalk 2009 development on my machine, but it already had visual studio 2010 installed. So I had to install VS2008, which went better than I hoped (did not have to do an uninstall of 2010).

So I had my biztalk 2009 and my Visual Studio 2008 installed and was ready to go when I came across a problem. When I tried to open an existing or create a new Biztalk project I got this error:

Creating project ‘BizTalk project name’… project creation failed.

Damn…

After some google-fu I found a lot of people experiencing the same problem and even an msdn page about my problem. All of the evidence was correct. I had installed VS2008 SP1   after I installed biztalk.

From the MSDN page:

When Visual Studio 2008 is repaired or when a Visual Studio 2008 update is installed, the value of the following registry entry is changed from csproj;btproj to csproj:

  • For 32-bit versions of Visual Studio 2008:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\Projects\{FAE04EC0-301F-11d3-BF4B-00C04F79EFBC}\PossibleProjectExtensions
  • For 64-bit versions of Visual Studio 2008:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\Projects\{FAE04EC0-301F-11d3-BF4B-00C04F79EFBC}\PossibleProjectExtensions

The problem was that I did not have a PossibleProjectExtensions registry key. I added it, with the correct values. Same error. I repared biztalk. Same error. I restarted multiple times. Same error.

I tried to set the registry key to the value it should have been after an update of Visual Studio (only ‘csproj’) and after doing a repare of Biztalk then I found it changed the value to the correct value. Still, the same error…

So I gave up for now, lost too much time on it already. I’m developing biztalk on a different (virtual machine). Still if anyone has found a solution or experienced the same problem let me know, maybe we could start a self help group…

2 thoughts on “Biztalk 2009 error: project creation failed in visual studio 2008

    • Hi Ayesha

      No I’m afraid I didn’t get it to work. I’m still working on a VM for the biztalk development.
      It’s not ideal, but since the whole team has to work on BT, it has the small advantage that they can all work on the VM and don’t have to install BT on their own machine (plus no VS 2008 just for BT).

      If anyone else found a solution feel free to share it!

Leave a Reply

